Hong Kong

2020 Hong Kong and Macau Collegiate A Cappella Competition

2020 Hong Kong and Macau Collegiate A Cappella Competition

 - Hong Kong and Macau University A Cappella Association

 - Asian Youth Artist Association
 - The Contemporary A Cappella Society of Hong Kong and Macau

Supporting units (in alphabetical order):
 - Macau Youth Music Promotion Association,
 - Taiwan Choral Music Center,
 - The A Cappella Society,
 - Vocal Asia

Application fee: HK$100 per participating group

Online registration:

Rules and Regulations:

• The competition is divided into "Local Section" and "Non-local Section". Groups from Hong Kong and Macau are under "Local Section", while other groups are under "Non-local Section".
• Members of each group must be coming from the same institute. Current undergraduates, post-graduates and part-time students are eligible, but graduates are not allowed to join the competition. The whole group will be disqualified if graduates are found.
• Contestants studying in more than one institutes can only represent one of the institutes. If the contestant is found to be representing more than one institutes, all the groups involved will be disqualified.
• Each group shall be formed by 3 or more contestants.
• There is no limit on song style and duration.  Vocal percussion and body percussion can be included.
• All songs must be performed in the format of a cappella (no musical instrument accompaniment, performing with human voices only), comprising at least 3 voice parts. The songs must not include any offending languages or insulting content.
• Competing groups shall agree with the decision made by the adjudicating panel.
• All competing videos must be uploaded before the deadline, and the undisclosed download links must be submitted together with the online entry forms.
• HMUACA reserves the rights to use the competition entries reasonably (e.g. for future promotion).
• All video footages submitted must be created within the last two months (i.e. between November 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020) and have not been released to the public.  Any form of audio and video editing is allowed.


• Champion, first runner-up and second runner-up will be given Local and Non-local Sections respectively. The adjudicating panel will select an overall champion among the champions of the 2 sections.
• The Most Popular Video Award. The winner of the Most Popular Video Award will be determined by Facebook poll results.  The one with the most “likes” wins.

Certificates will be awarded to all winners.

Trophies will be awarded to the three above-mentioned champions.
HMUACA will post all award-winning works to help promotion of them and their performing groups.

Judges (in no particular order):

.Indra Tedjasukmana
Multi Award winning Beatboxer, Vocal Performer and Vocal Arranger
Doctor of Musical Arts
Author of "Beatbox Complete"

.Mr. XianRong
Lecturer of Taiwan Sun Yat-sen University and Kaohsiung Normal University
Renowned arranger, producer, and singer

.Miss Gladys Tse
President of Hong Kong and Macau College A Cappella Association)

The decision of the panel of judges is final. No objection shall be made to it.

Deadline of registration and video submission:
11:59PM (HKT) on December 31, 2020

Deadline of voting for "The Most Popular Movie Award":
11:59 PM, January 16, 2021

Date of result announcement:
January 17, 2021

HMUACA reserves all rights to interpret / amend all the rules and regulations.

Enquiry: [email protected]



related articles